balancing the chakras, color by color – part 2

balancing the chakras, color by color – part 2

by December 27, 2012

Each of the seven main chakras in our body has a long list of characteristics associated with it, and in the first posting for this topic we introduced each chakra’s name, location in the body, and general traits linked with them. In this post, we’ll explore a simple meditation that works with the colors of the chakras to help open them up.

The chakras are seven interlinked and interdependent centers of energy in the body. When one or more of these centers is blocked, it causes an imbalance in the whole system, which can manifest as any number of physical or psychological problems. It can be difficult, however, to know how to fix a part of ourselves that is so abstract.

A helpful analogy is offered by Rosalyn Bruyere, who refers to the chakras as “wheels of light” in her book of the same name. The light from each chakra is a different color of the rainbow (remember “ROY G. BIV” from middle school science?), and by visualizing each color along with its location in the body, we’re able to direct a powerful, steady, and therapeutic awareness to the chakras. The visual becomes the anchor, so it’s a little bit like meditating on form.

Chakra colors aren’t random. Color therapy recognizes that colors have profound effects on us at all levels—physical, spiritual, emotional, and psychological—and these colors are directly linked to all of the other issues and characteristics associated with each chakra.

“chakra colors” – alternate representation

Chakras and Their Colors

From the root to the crown, here is each chakra’s color:

  • Muladhara – Red 
  • Svadhishthana – Orange
  • Manipura – Yellow
  • Anahata – Green
  • Vishuddha – Turquoise
  • Ajna – Violet
  • Sahasrara – White

Depending on the source you consult, you may find Ajna described as indigo and Sahasrara as violet—a true representation of the rainbow (see image above). I prefer the image of a white, luminous crown chakra because it helps me connect with Sahasrara’s transcendental and infinite nature.

save this wallpaper for your computer!

click to enlarge and save this desktop wallpaper for your computer!

The Meditation

This chakra-opening meditation can be done starting at either the crown or the root, so you may want to try it both ways to see which sequence works best for you.

Find a comfortable position, either seated or lying down. Take a few deep breaths and allow the body and the mind to settle.

Bring your awareness to Muladhara, in the area of the pelvic floor, and visualize it as a glowing red wheel of light. Spend a few moments there, until you sense the energy flowing in and out of that specific chakra, and then move your awareness up to the next chakra (Svadhishthana, in the area of the genitals, an orange light).

Repeat the process for all seven chakras. Some may require more time than others, so be patient and give each chakra the time it needs to fully open. As you grow more comfortable with this practice, you can make it a “round trip,” coming back through the sequence in reverse and ending where you began.

Yes, chakra theory can be complicated. But chakra meditation can be surprisingly simple and you don’t have to be a chakra scholar to get started!

We’ll look at even more chakra meditation techniques in the coming weeks, so please share your questions, thoughts, and personal experiences in the space below.

photo credits: colors, desktop